The skin is an amazing and complex organ that comprises multiple layers and cell types that are functionally distinct. The aim of the Skinatlas is to characterize the molecular composition of the healthy human skin by creating an atlas of all the proteins expressed in healthy skin as a function of their spatial location as well as its major cell types. This atlas, comprising the identification of a global proteomic composition of human skin, is providing an important resource for the skin research community.

Human Skinatlas


A Deeper Understanding

The Skinatlas is created by the Clinical Proteomics group led by Professor Matthias Mann. Matthias Mann is a pioneer within the field of mass spectrometry and has been advancing the technology for years. With the Skinatlas we have created the deepest proteome to date by identifying almost 11 000 proteins.

Translational dermatology – bench to bedside

The patients are our driving force. Their symptoms become our observations and we can bring those observations and hypotheses arising in the clinic directly to the laboratory, thereby expanding the knowledge, and treat our patients. We hope that that we can contribute to a deeper understanding of skin biology and skin diseases.

On behalf of the Skinatlas team – Beatrice Dyring-Andersen, MD PhD

The team

Beatrice Dyring-Andersen, Marianne Bengtson Løvendorf, Fabian Coscia, Alberto Santos, Lili Niu, Line Bruun Pilgaard Sørensen

Clinical Proteomics

This work is supported by the Leo Foundation, the Novo Nordisk Foundation, the Lundbeck Foundation, the Aage Bangs Foundation and the A.P. Møller Foundation for the Advancement of Medical Sciences.

We would like to thank the faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Copenhagen for continuous support.

Illustrations by: Juliet Percival

How to cite Skinatlas

Spatially and cell-type resolved quantitative proteomic atlas of healthy human skin
Beatrice Dyring-Andersen, Marianne Bengtson Loevendorf, Fabian Coscia, Alberto Santos, Line Bruun Pilgaard Moeller, Ana Rita Colaco, Lili Niu, Michael Bzorek, Sophia Doll, Joergen Lock Andersen, Rachael A. Clark, Lone Skov, Marcel B.M. Teunissen, Matthias Mann. Nature Communications 2020.


Rachael A. Clark & lab members Department of Dermatology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Marcel Teunissen Department of Dermatology, University of Amsterdam

Jørgen Lock Andersen, Bjørn Crewe Department of Plastic and Breast Surgery, Zealand University Hospital, Roskilde, Denmark

Lone Skov Department of Dermato-allergology, Gentofte Hospital

Michael Bzorek, Lise Mette Rahbek Gjerdrum Department of Surgical Pathology, Zealand University Hospital, Roskilde and Næstved

Developed in


Disclaimer This resource is intended for research purposes only.